Ardrossan and Arran, Saltcoats and Stevenston Area Committee 8 September 2010

IRVINE, 8 September 2010 - At a Meeting of the Ardrossan and Arran, Saltcoats and Stevenston Area Committee of North Ayrshire Council at 3.00 p.m.

Present

Anthony Gurney, Margie Currie, Peter McNamara and Ronnie McNicol.

In Attendance

J. McHarg, Assistant Manager (Community Services); M. Anderson, Committee Services Officer and D. McCaw, Committee Services Support Officer (Chief Executive's Service).

Chair

Councillor Gurney in the Chair.

Apologies for Absence

William Gibson, John Hunter, David Munn and Alan Munro.

1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest by Members in terms of Standing Order 16.

2. Community Development Grants Scheme and Local Youth Action Fund 2010/11: Applications for Financial Assistance

Submitted report by the Corporate Director (Education and Skills) on applications for financial assistance under the Council's Community Development Grants Scheme and the Local Youth Action Fund.

The Committee agreed to make the following awards:-

Community Development Grants Scheme

Organisation	Award
Ardrossan Elderly Forum	£ 360
Three Towns Carers	£1,185

Local Youth Action Fund

Organisation	Award
Ardrossan Outdoor Activity Club	£1,000
St. John's Youth Group	£2,000

3. Stevenston Common Good Fund: Application for Financial Assistance

Submitted report by the Chief Executive on an application for financial assistance from Stevenston Common Good Fund.

The Committee agreed to make an award of £500 to Chelsea Burns on the basis that the applicant is an ambassador for the Stevenston area.

4. Date and Venue of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Area Committee will be held on Thursday 14 October 2010 at 2.00 p.m. in the Ardeer Neighbourhood Centre.

5. Future Agenda Items

The Committee (a) requested that an update be provided to the next meeting on the sequencing of the lights at Glasgow Street/Princes Street, Ardrossan following the recent changes; and (b) noted that any additional items for consideration at the next meeting should be submitted to M. Anderson or D. McCaw.

The Meeting ended at 3.05 p.m.