NORTH AYRSHIRE COUNCIL

Ordinary Community Council Elections in the Garnock Valley 2021

Notice is hereby given that, in terms of the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils in North Ayrshire, Beith and District, Dalry, and Kilbirnie and Glengarnock Community Councils are calling for nominations of persons to stand for election to serve as Community Councillors. Ten places are available on Beith and District, seven on Dalry and eight on Kilbirnie and Glengarnock Community Council and the term of office is four years. It should be noted that Community Councillors, who must be local residents aged over 16, serve in a voluntary capacity.

Nomination papers can be obtained from Committee and Member Services by contacting Melanie Anderson, Senior Manager (Committee and Member Services) by telephoning 01294 324131/07385 417274 during office hours or emailing <u>committeeservices@north-ayrshire.gov.uk</u>

Completed nomination papers must arrive with Committee and Member Services by **Wednesday 3 November 2021.** Nominations must contain the name and address of the person nominated and the names and addresses of two proposers, each of whom should be a local government elector for the area. Each nomination paper must be signed by the person nominated and the two proposers.

In the event of nominations exceeding the number of vacancies to be filled, an election will take place via postal ballot for the community council(s) in question. Postal ballots will be available to local electors on request, from **Friday 5 November 2021** by contacting the above-mentioned officer of the Council.

The deadline for the return of any postal ballots will be **Friday 19 November 2021.** Arrangements will be made to allow completed ballots to be returned by post or placed in a ballot box locally.

An Election Results meeting will then be convened by the community council in the week commencing **22 November 2021** (further details to be advised).

Community Council elections are also taking place in respect of a number of other community councils in North Ayrshire. Please contact the above-mentioned officer for further information.

Craig Hatton Chief Executive