Education Appeals Committee

The Education Appeal Committee determines appeals by parents against a decision of the Council acting as Education Authority as to (i) the schools which their child or children should attend, in response to a placing request submitted by the parent and (ii) the exclusion of their child or children. The rules for the formal constitution and membership of Education Appeal Committees are laid down in Schedule 1A of the Education (Scotland) Act 1980 as amended. Each meeting of the committee will comprise of 3 members: one Member of Council drawn from a pool of 4 Elected Members, and two Lay Members, drawn from a pool of Lay Members.
17 May 2017 - onwards
  • Meetings
  • Members
  • Other Information


Enter date to display meetings from
Enter date to display meetings to
Scheduled Meeting DateStart TimeEnd TimeVenueStatus 
21 March 201814:4516:45Garnock Committee RoomOccurred
30 November 201810:3013:00Three Towns Committee RoomOccurred
06 September 201914:0016:00Three Towns Committee RoomOccurred


The members listed will be the people that were members of the committee at the selected date. (dd/mm/yyyy)
Select this option to also display any retired members.

Elected Members

PartyNameRoleMembership Dates
Scottish Labour Party
Councillor Ian Clarkson Member 17/05/2017 - current
Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Councillor Timothy Billings Chairperson 17/05/2017 - current
Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Councillor Tom Marshall Member 17/05/2017 - current
Scottish Labour Party
Councillor Louise McPhater Member 17/05/2017 - current
Diane McCaw
01294 324133

Other Information