[Landing Page title]

    Community Councils



    In light of the current Covid-19 outbreak, changes have been made to the way in which community councils in North Ayrshire are operating for the time being.

    • ‘ordinary’ community councils due in September/October/November for Arran, Cumbrae, Dalry, Fairlie, Irvine, Kilbirnie & Glengarnock, Kilwinning, Largs, Skelmorlie and West Kilbride will not now take place until Spring 2021.  
    • the term of office of existing community councils and their members which would otherwise come to an end in 2020 is extended until 30 April 2021 (or effectively until the postponed ordinary elections have taken place)
    • in the interim, community councils are not required to meet and are not subject to the requirement to meet as least 6 times per year
    • actions/decisions which community councils require to take during this period when meetings cannot take place, may be taken remotely via consultation with community council members, including the appointment of new members
    • during this period, the Council will not exercise the power to dissolve a community council either for (i) failing to hold the required minimum number of meetings or (ii) having its membership fall below its minimum level

    Community Councils

    Community Councils are provided for in statute by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 and the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994. Community Councils are entirely independent from the local authority.

    Role of Community Councils

    In terms of Section 51(2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the purpose of a Community Council, in addition to any other purpose which it may pursue, shall be “to ascertain, co-ordinate and express to the local authorities for its area, and to public authorities, the views of the community which it represents, in relation to matters for which those authorities are responsible, and to take such action in the interests of that community as appears to it to be expedient and practicable”. You can find general information about Community Councils on the Scottish Government website or on the Scottish Community Councils website at www.communitycouncils.scot

    Community Councils in North Ayrshire

    Each local authority in Scotland is required to have in place a Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils within their area. In North Ayrshire, the Scheme currently in force, which was approved in March 2016, provides for 17 Community Councils in North Ayrshire.  The Scheme and can be accessed at Scheme inc boundary maps.  A map showing how community council boundaries relate to North Ayrshire Council Elected Member ward boundaries is also available.

    A 'plain English' guide to the formal Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, is also available.

    Meetings of Community Councils

    Community Councils meet regularly in local venues and generally their meetings will be open to the public.  Contact Committee Services (01294 324131) for information on how to get in touch with your local community council.  Alternatively, you may wish to email your local community council using the contact inofrmation provided in the "Getting Involved" section below.

    Some community councils have developed their own website and post information on meetings and copies of their Minutes.  The Minutes of several community councils are also available to view at http://www.northayrshire.community.

    Training for Community Councillors

    programme of training was delivered during the first part of 2017 to assist community councillors in their role.  A community council conference also took place on Sunday 25 June 2017 and the first Community Council forum was held in January 2018.

    A training evening for existing community councillors will take place on 22 February 2018 at 7.00 p.m. in Dalry Library.  Further information is available from Connected Communities. 

    More information will follow on further training opportunities.

    Community Council Elections

    North Ayrshire, Ordinary Community Council elections are held every 4 years.  Notice of Elections will normally be placed in the local press and posters posted in venues in the Community Council area. 

    Ordinary elections of Elections will next take place in Arran, Cumbrae, Dalry, Fairlie, Irvine, Kilbirnie & Glengarnock, Kilwinning, Largs, Skelmorlie and West Kilbride in 2020, in Beith & District and Saltcoats in 2021, and in Stevenston in 2022.

    There are currently no active community councils within Ardrossan, Dreghorn, Girdle Toll and Bourtreehill or Springside.

    Review of Community Council Scheme

    From time to time the Council will review the Scheme for the establishment of Community Councils in North Ayrshire. The last such review was undertaken in 2015/16.

    Getting Involved

    If you are interested in getting involved with your local Community Council, please contact North Ayrshire Council Community Council Liaison Officer at Committee Services for more information (on telephone number 01294 324131).  Many community councils have their own website or Facebook page.  You can also contact your local community council by email:

    Community Council Secretary Email Address
    Ardrossan - inactive - -
    Arran Mr Jim Henderson info@arrancommunitycouncil.org.uk
    Beith & District Vacant/Mrs Helen McNaughton (Chair) secretary@beith-district.co.uk/ chair@beith-district.co.uk
    Cumbrae Vacant/ Mr Graham Wallace (Chair) cumbraeccouncil@gmail.com
    Dalry Mr Peter Stevenson Please email committeeservices@north-ayrshire.gov.uk
    Dreghorn - inactive - -
    Fairlie Vacant/ Ms Rita Holmes (Chair) rita.c.holmes@gmail.com
    Girdle Toll & Bourtreehill - inactive - -
    Irvine Ms Jacqueline Frew irvinecommunitycouncil@gmail.com
    Kilbirnie & Glengarnock Mr Allan Wright secretary@kilbirnieglengarnock.cc
    Kilwinning Mr James Watson kcc-secretary@outlook.com
    Largs Ms Valerie Lundie valerielundie@aol.com
    Saltcoats Vacant Please email committeeservices@north-ayrshire.gov.uk
    Skelmorlie Ms Gloria MacDonald skelmorliecc@gmail.com
    Springside - inactive - -
    Stevenston Mr Don Campbell stevenstoncc@gmail.com
    West Kilbride Ms Kay Hall wkcc1620@gmail.com

    Contact Us

    Contact Committee Services
    For any queries relating to the committees of North Ayrshire Council; Community Councils; or Outside Bodies.

    Contact Member Services
    For any queries relating to Councillors; the Provost of North Ayrshire Council; or members’ expenses.

    General Enquiries
    For all other queries.