Your Council


North Ayrshire Council has 33 Councillors, each representing one of ten multi-member electoral wards. Each electoral ward in North Ayrshire has either 3 or 4 Councillors.  Information about each Councillor can be found here.  The Council consists of 11 Scottish Labour Party Councillors, 9 Scottish National Party (SNP) Councillors, 7 Conservative & Unionist Councillors, 4 Independent Councillors and 1 Alba Party Councillor.  There is currently one Ward 6 vacancy.

No single party has an overall majority on the Council.  Labour formed a minority Administration at the Statutory Meeting of the Council on 17 May 2017.

The Leader and Depute Leader of the Council are Councillor Joe Cullinane and Councillor John Bell, respectively.  The Provost and Depute Provost are Councillor Ian Clarkson and Councillor Robert Barr.  The Provost, or in his absence, the Depute Provost, chairs meetings of the Council. The full Council meets in the eighth week of every committee meeting cycle.  Meetings of the Council are normally held in the Council Chambers located at Cunninghame House in Irvine. Details of all meetings of the Council and its committees can be found here.

You can search for your local Councillors using the Your Location option. 

Contact Us

Contact Committee Services
For any queries relating to the committees of North Ayrshire Council; Community Councils; or Outside Bodies.

Contact Member Services
For any queries relating to Councillors; the Provost of North Ayrshire Council; or members’ expenses.

General Enquiries
For all other queries.